

CALVERT COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

175 Main Street
Prince Frederick, Maryland 20678
410-535-1600 • 301-855-1243
www.calvertcountymd.gov

Board of Commissioners
Mark C. Cox Sr.
Catherine M. Grasso
Earl F. Hance
Mike Hart
Todd Ireland

February 16, 2023

The Honorable Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Chair Ways & Means Committee
Room 131, House Office Building
Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Re: HB0599 – Property Tax Credit - Public Safety Officer

Chair Atterbeary:

The Board of County Commissioners for Calvert County writes to **SUPPORT HB0599**. As enabling legislation, this Bill affords the jurisdiction awarding the credit to define the public safety officers eligible for the credit and removes the current cap of \$2,500 per annum. Its passage affords the local jurisdiction flexibility to attain goals and objections in a manner that is affordable and targeted.

Should you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact County Administrator Julian M. Willis at 410-535-1600, extension 2202, or County Attorney John Norris at 410-535-1600, extension 2566. Thank you for your kind consideration of our position regarding this important Bill.

Sincerely,

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS CALVERT COUNTY, MARYLAND

Earl F. Hance

Mike Hart, Vice President

Mark C Cox &r

Cathanina M. Cuana

Todd Ireland

cc: The Honorable Delegate Todd Morgan