ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

HB 597 – St. Mary's County - County Commissioners Election Method -Straw Ballot

SUPPORT

February 9, 2023

The Honorable Vanessa Atterbeary, Chairman House Ways and Means Committee Room 131, House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Atterbeary:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County SUPPORT HB 597 – St. Mary's County - County Commissioners Election Method - Straw Ballot which is being heard in the Ways and Means Committee.

We support HB 597 and request a favorable report. We appreciate the introduction of this legislation and believe it will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely, COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2023/029

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, Interim County Administrator/County Attorney John Sterling Houser, Assistant County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 EXT. 1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • <u>www.stmarysmd.com</u> • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV