## COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

## **HB 447**

Local Elections - County Commissioner - District Voting

## **OPPOSE**

January 31, 2023

The Honorable Vanessa Atterbeary, Chairman House Ways and Means Committee Room 131, House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Atterbeary:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County **oppose** HB 447 Local Elections - County Commissioner - District Voting, which will be heard in the Ways and Means Committee, unless its changes to our government are first approved by the citizens of St. Mary's County via local referendum.

We unanimously oppose HB 447 and request an unfavorable report. We do not believe such a significant change to our citizens' right to vote for all their local officials should be made without their consent.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

Yames Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2023/016

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Eric Colvin

Commissioner Michael Hewitt

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, Interim County Administrator/County Attorney

John Sterling Houser, Assistant County Attorney