**MIKE MCKAY** Legislative District 1 Garrett, Allegany, and Washington Counties

Judicial Proceedings Committee Executive Nominations Committee



James Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street, Room 416 Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3565 · 301-858-3565 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3565 Mike.McKay@senate.state.md.us

## THE SENATE OF MARYLAND Annapolis, Maryland 21401

February 3, 2024

RE: Fire/EMS Coalition Support for House Bill 1313

Dear Chairman Barnes, Vice Chairman Chang, and Members of the Committee,

The Fire/EMS Coalition would like to express their support for House Bill 1313: Law Enforcement Officers' Pension System - Membership - 9-1-1 Specialists. The bill will authorize certain individuals who are employed as 9-1-1 specialists and certified by the Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission to become members of the Law Enforcement Officers' Pension System as employees of a participating governmental unit.

The Fire/EMS Coalition supports House Bill 1313 as it will be beneficial to those who work as 9-1-1 specialists to recieve the benefits they deserve as part of their pension. Our 9-1-1 operators work diligently to keep our community safe and the Coalition supports this important effort.

Sincerely,

fw.mch

Senator Mike McKay Representing the Appalachia Region of Maryland Serving Garrett, Allegany, and Washington Counties

<u>Voting Organizations</u>: Maryland Fire Chief's Association (MFCA) Maryland State Firemen's Association (MSFA) State Fire Marshal (OSFM) Maryland Fire Rescue Institute (MFRI) Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services System (MIEMMS) Metro Fire Chief's Association Professional Firefighters of Maryland

**Our Mission Statement** 

The Maryland Fire/EMS Coalition unites Republicans and Democrats in support of fire/emergency services legislation that benefit all first responders. Becoming a member does not require taking positions on legislation; rather Coalition members are asked to offer support in a way that best benefits fire/emergency services in their respective Legislative Districts.