

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS Chair Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20 1st Vice Chair Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40 2nd Vice Chair Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25 Treasurer Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40 Secretary Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26 Financial Secretary Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43 Chaplain Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24 Parliamentarian Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffony Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District B Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Deleaate Edith J. Patterson. District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 301-858-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Fax 410-841-3175 • 301-858-3175 • Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

February 27, 2024

Chairman Ben Barnes Appropriations Committee 121 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Barnes and Members of the Appropriations Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 1244 – Maryland Higher Education Commission – Academic Program Approval and Institutional Mission Statements – Requirements, a bill that requires the Maryland Higher Education Commission to have a designated staff member to define, identify, and compile data related to the workforce needs of the State of Maryland. It will also require the MHEC to establish a Program Review Process Advisory Council. This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

During the 2022-2023 academic year, several predominantly white institutions (PWIs) in Maryland were found to have duplicated degree programs from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) across the state. This act of blatant duplication has adversely affected HBCUs regarding admission rates and federal funding. Specifically, Towson University was found to have copied Morgan State University's Business Analytics doctoral program, violating a 2021 legal settlement requiring Maryland to pay \$577 million to the state's HBCUs for allegation underfunding the schools.

More than 100 HBCUs have provided Black students across the United States access to higher education that has been historically denied to them by PWIs. However, HBCUs continue to face barriers in equal funding and program creation. Specifically in Maryland, HBCUs now have to contend with PWIs outright copying programs that are specific to HBCUs.

House Bill 1244 will allow for data on workforce needs to be analyzed and find the appropriate solution to meet those needs. It will also require the Maryland Higher Education Commission to establish an advisory council to determine if degree programs from HBCUs are being duplicated by PWIs and the best course of action. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports **House Bill 1244** and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland