

March 27, 2024

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman Chair Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee Miller Senate Office Building—2 West Annapolis, Maryland 21401 The Honorable Ben Barnes Chair, Appropriations Committee House Office Building—Room 121 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Favorable Support for HB1020 SB0864 Universities at Shady Grove Regional Higher Education Center – Designation as Community of Innovation

Dear Chair Feldman, Chair Barnes, and Committee Members,

The Committee for Montgomery (CfM) apologizes for missing the deadline to submit written testimony on HB1020/SB0864 but wanted to express our support for this especially important piece of legislation. CfM is a coalition of leaders representing a broad cross-section of Montgomery County business, labor, education, civic, arts, and community-based organizations advocating on issues of importance to Montgomery County and the State.

CfM supports HB1020/SB0864 designating the Universities at Shady Grove Regional Higher Education Center as the State's Regional Higher Education Community of Innovation; and altering the purposes of the Universities at Shady Grove to include serving a diverse citizenry in an innovative manner to meet the educational needs of the region and fostering individual academic success leading to career success which positively impacts the entire economy of the region.

CfM supports the testimonies of Senator Nancy King, former Senator Patrick J. Hogan, the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce, and Anne M. Khademian, Ph.D. Executive Director, USG Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic & Student Affairs, University System of Maryland.

CfM believes the designation of Universities at Shady Grove as a Community of Innovation will strengthen the resources of our region as well as the State of Maryland.

The Committee for Montgomery (CfM) urges a FAVORABLE report on SB864/HB1020.

Sincerely yours,

Kenneth Nelson Issues Chair