

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 ● 301-858-3185 ● 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 ● Fax 410-841-3175 ● 301-858-3175 ● Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 25, 2024

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District B Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39

Delegate Caylin Young, District 45

Chairman Guy Guzzone, Budget & Taxation Committee 3 West Miller Senate Office Bldg. Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairwoman Guzzone and Members of the Committee:

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for **House Bill 200 - Community Schools - Alterations**, which would ensure that school districts with less than 40 community schools that receive funding from the Concentration of Poverty School Grant expend 10% or less of the per public grant on behalf of eligible schools. **This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.**

Currently, if a local system has at least 40 eligible schools or more in the district, they may expend 50% or less of the funds. For school districts with less than 40 eligible schools, they don't have this option. House Bill 200 provides the opportunity for districts with fewer eligible schools to spend funds to coordinate successful community school services.

House Bill 200 clarifies that schools utilizing the per-pupil grant must base their grant spending on the *most recent* needs assessment plan and prioritize funding for the areas of greatest need according to the needs assessment plan. The bill requires the Director of Community Schools in MSDE to create a common needs assessment tool (in consultation with local schools and communities) that community school coordinators can use to complete the needs assessment. These needs assessments must be published online after being approved by MSDE.

This legislation requires community school coordinators to review their implementation plans at least once every 3 years to determine if students' needs are being met.

House Bill 200 has no fiscal effect on the State and local levels. The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) and AIB can handle the bill's provisions using existing resources.

House Bill 200 addresses the socio-economic barriers that students in Maryland's marginalized communities experience. Everyone deserves a quality education. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports House Bill 200.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland