

STATE RETIREMENT AGENCY 120 East Baltimore Street Baltimore, MD 21202-6700 410-625-5555 • 1-800-492-5909 TTY Users: call via Maryland Relay sra.maryland.gov

Testimony in Support of Senate Bill 320 State Police Retirement System and Law Enforcement Officers' Pension System – Deferred Retirement Option Program – Technical Correction Senate Budget and Tax Committee

January 25, 2024 9:30 A.M.

Anne Gawthrop Director of Legislative Affairs State Retirement Agency

The Board of Trustees for the State Retirement and Pension System wishes to express its support for Senate Bill 320, State Police Retirement System and Law Enforcement Officers' Pension System – Deferred Retirement Option Program – Technical Correction. Senate Bill 320 is legislation sponsored by the Joint Committee on Pensions at the request of the Board.

Chapter 400 of the Acts of 2023 extends the timeframe for participation in the Deferred Retirement Option Program ("DROP") for members of the State Police Retirement System ("SPRS") and Law Enforcement Officers Pension System ("LEOPS") from five years to seven years. Section 2 of Chapter 400 creates a 6-month election period, from July 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023, for current SPRS and LEOPS DROP members to extend their DROP participation for two extra years, but erroneously states that LEOPS members currently participating in the DROP who wish to extend their participation in the DROP to seven years, must terminate DROP by age 60, similar to the mandatory retirement age for members of the SPRS. Provisions of the State Personnel and Pensions Article provide that only members of the SPRS are subject to a mandatory retirement age of 60. Senate Bill 320 corrects this inadvertent reference to mandatory retirement for the LEOPS members currently participating in the DROP.

We appreciate being given this opportunity to express our support to the Budget and Tax Committee for this legislation and would request a favorable report on Senate Bill 320.

Dereck E. Davis, *Chair* Linda Vaughn Allen Jamaal R. A. Craddock James P. Daly, Jr.

Ayana K. English-Brown Helene Grady Sheila Hill

Michael J. Howard Richard E Norman Mia N. Pittman Brooke Lierman, *Vice-Chair* Douglas Prouty Michelle RhodesBrown Robert F. Sandlass, Jr.

Martin Noven, Secretary to the Board

BOARD OF TRUSTEES