Danielle Hornberger County Executive

Steven Overbay
Director of Administration

Office: 410.996.5202

Email: dhornberger@ccgov.org



Jackie Gregory Council President

> Robert Meffley Vice President

Office: 410.996.5201 Email: council@ccgov.org

CECIL COUNTY GOVERNMENT

Cecil County Administration Building 200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Elkton, MD 21921

February 14, 2024

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman
The Honorable Cheryl C. Kagan
Education, Energy and the Environment Committee
2 West
Miller Senate Office Building
Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 0691 – Higher Education - Firefighters and EMS Recruitment and Retention - Scholarship and Loan Repayment Assistance Letter of Support

Dear Chairman Feldman, Vice Chair Kagan and Members of the Education, Energy and the Environment Committee:

The County Council and the County Executive of Cecil County unanimously support SB 0691 - Higher Education - Firefighters and EMS Recruitment and Retention - Scholarship and Loan Repayment Assistance. The hearing on this legislation is scheduled for February 28, 2024.

It is our understanding that this legislation is altering the Charles W. Riley Firefighter and Ambulance and Rescue Squad Member Scholarship to make the scholarship applicable to all programs at institutions of higher education in the State; altering the maximum award available, when a scholarship should be credited, and to whom initial awards should be provided under the scholarship; establishing the Maryland Loan Repayment Assistance Program for Firefighters and Emergency Medical Services Providers; providing for the administration of the loan repayment program; etc.

Cecil County strongly supports this, and any bill, the creates programs that offers assistance to help us promote careers and higher education for our firefighters and EMS personnel for recruitment and retention.

The County Executive and County Council of Cecil County respectfully request that the Education, Energy and Environment Committee send a favorable report on SB 0691. Sincerely,

Danielle Hornberger County Executive Jackie Gregory

President of County Council