Danielle Hornberger County Executive

Steven Overbay
Director of Administration

Office: 410.996.5202

Email: dhornberger@ccgov.org



Jackie Gregory Council President

> Robert Meffley Vice President

Office: 410.996.5201 Email: council@ccgov.org

## **CECIL COUNTY GOVERNMENT**

Cecil County Administration Building 200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Elkton, MD 21921

February 8, 2024

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman
The Honorable Cheryl C. Kagan
Education, Energy and the Environment Committee
2 West
Miller Senate Office Building
Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 0352 - Commission to Advance Lithium–Ion Battery Safety in Maryland Letter of Support

Dear Chairman Feldman, Vice Chair Kagan and Members of the Education, Energy and the Environment Committee:

The County Council and the County Executive of Cecil County unanimously supports SB 0532 - Commission to Advance Lithium–Ion Battery Safety in Maryland. The Hearing on this legislation is scheduled for February 22, 2024.

It is our understanding that this legislation is establishing the Commission to Advance Lithium-Ion Battery Safety in Maryland; and requiring the Commission to study and make legislative, regulatory, programmatic, and other recommendations and, on or before December 1, 2025, report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly.

Our Emergency Services, Volunteer Firefighters and public safety members are all concerned on the growing use of lithium-ion batteries and the associated risks. This Commission should help educate all of us on the associated risks and opportunities and help guide our policy decisions going forward. Cecil County strongly supports this legislation.

The County Executive and County Council of Cecil County respectfully request that the Education, Energy and Environment Committee send a favorable report on SB 0532.

Sincerely,

Danielle Hornberger

County Executive

Jackie Gregory

President of County Council