MIKE MCKAY Legislative District 1 Garrett, Allegany, and Washington Counties

Judicial Proceedings Committee Executive Nominations Committee



James Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street, Room 416 Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3565 · 301-858-3565 800-492-7122 *Ext.* 3565 Mike.McKay@senate.state.md.us

THE SENATE OF MARYLAND Annapolis, Maryland 21401

February 10, 2024

RE: Fire/EMS Coalition Support for House Bill 782

Dear Chairman Korman, Vice Chair Boyce, and Members of the Environment and Transportation Committee,

The Fire/EMS Coalition would like to express their support for House Bill 782: Vehicle Laws - Lighting - Privately Owned Vehicles. The bill will establish authorization for certain members of a volunteer fire company to equip their privately owned vehicles with red and green or red and white lights or signal devices.

The Fire/EMS Coalition supports House Bill 782 as it will be beneficial to public safety in Maryland as this bill would allow firefighters to respond to emergencies quickly even in their personal time. First Responders know emergencies do not happen on a 9 to 5 on-the-clock basis, allowing light devices for certain volunteer fire company personnel allows for more efficient emergency response.

Sincerely,

funch

Senator Mike McKay Representing the Appalachia Region of Maryland Serving Garrett, Allegany, and Washington Counties

<u>Voting Organizations</u>: Maryland Fire Chief's Association (MFCA) Maryland State Firemen's Association (MSFA) State Fire Marshal (OSFM) Maryland Fire Rescue Institute (MFRI) Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services System (MIEMMS) Metro Fire Chief's Association Professional Firefighters of Maryland

Our Mission Statement

The Maryland Fire/EMS Coalition unites Republicans and Democrats in support of fire/emergency services legislation that benefit all first responders. Becoming a member does not require taking positions on legislation; rather Coalition members are asked to offer support in a way that best benefits fire/emergency services in their respective Legislative Districts.