

## Montgomery County's Advocates for Better Transportation

P.O. Box 7074, Silver Spring MD 20907 • admin@actfortransit.org

February 6, 2024

## Testimony in Support of HB 344 and SB 345 Transportation – Vision Zero Advisory Commission – Establishment

Action Committee for Transit, a Montgomery County–based organization that advocates for better transit and safer streets for pedestrians and cyclists, supports the establishment of a Vision Zero Advisory Commission.

While a committee within the Maryland Department of Transportation that works on the annual state highway safety plan currently exists, that committee is not codified by statute. The proposed Vision Zero Advisory Commission would not only codify a group dedicated to safer streets but would also give external stakeholders, such as representatives from pedestrian and cyclist advocacy groups, seats at the table. Advocates would be invaluable members of the proposed commission, as they deeply understand the infrastructure issues facing pedestrians and cyclists as well as the difficulties of enlisting local, county, and state departments of transportation to swiftly act to prevent the trend of vehicles killing an increasing number of pedestrians and cyclists. The fact that the commission would include citizen representatives from different geographic areas throughout the state is an important consideration given concerns of equitable distribution of transportation resources. Finally, giving advocates a seat at the table could inspire more citizen engagement with the findings and recommendations published in the Maryland Department of Transportation's Vision Zero report, which is required by current law to be published annually.

Please support this bill in addition to bills that enact changes supporting the overall goal of Vision Zero, such as MC 6-24, MC 7-24, MC 10-24, and MC 15-24 in Montgomery County, as well as statewide legislation such as <u>HB0337/SB0315</u> (the Sarah Debbink Langenkamp Memorial Act), <u>HB0111/SB0077</u>, and <u>HB0028</u>.

Sincerely,

Amy Frieder President, Action Committee for Transit