

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 301-858-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Fax 410-841-3175 • 301-858-3175 • Black Caucus@house.state.md.us

February 21, 2024

Chairman William C. Smith, Jr. Environment & Transportation Cmte. 251 House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Korman and Members of the Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 24 - Environment – Impact of Environmental Permits and State Agency Actions, a bill mandating environmental justice evaluations by the Maryland Department of the Environment for communities that rank in the top 25th percentile regarding pollution in the state. The bill addresses pollution from various facilities across the state, including industrial facilities, landfills, incinerators, sewage treatment plants, and hazardous substance facilities. This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

Environmental racism is an issue that impacts the livelihoods of Black Maryland residents, most notably their health. Often, Black people in Maryland are more likely to live in areas with worse water and air quality, in addition to a higher exposure to hazardous waste. For example, in the Lothian of Anne Arundel County, many residents live near wastewater treatment plants and mining sites, most of which are noncompliant with the Department of the Environment's operating permits. In Lothian, 20 percent of all people living within a 3-mile radius of the mining sites are Black.

This leads to adverse health outcomes for Black Maryland residents. Nationally, Black Americans are exposed to 56 percent more pollution than they produce, compared to only 17 percent less for their white counterparts. As a result, Black Americans experience higher risks of different health issues such as asthma, birth defects, cardiovascular disorders, and cancer. In Maryland specifically, Black residents are 3 times more likely to be exposed to air pollution compared to white residents. Additionally, Black Maryland residents are 1.1 times more likely to suffer from asthma and 2.3 times to die from the disease, even when factoring in air pollution exposure.

House Bill 24 will combat environmental racism in Maryland by mandating the Department of the Environment to evaluate facilities and whether they meet the MDE's regulations on environmental safety. This legislation will protect the health of all Black Maryland residents and eliminate their exposure to pollution across the state. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports House Bill 24 and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22

Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45