Danielle Hornberger County Executive

Steven Overbay
Director of Administration

Office: 410.996.5202

Email: dhornberger@ccgov.org



Jackie Gregory Council President

> Robert Meffley Vice President

Office: 410.996.5201 Email: council@ccgov.org

CECIL COUNTY GOVERNMENT

Cecil County Administration Building 200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Elkton, MD 21921

February 1, 2024

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman
The Honorable Cheryl C. Kagan
Education, Energy and the Environment Committee
2 West
Miller Senate Office Building
Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 0381 – Education - Interscholastic and Intramural Junior Varsity and Varsity Teams - Designation Based on Sex (Fairness In Girls' Sports Act)
Letter of Support

Dear Chairman Feldman, Vice Chair Kagan and Members of the Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee:

The County Council and the County Executive of Cecil County unanimously supports SB 0381 - Education - Interscholastic and Intramural Junior Varsity and Varsity Teams - Designation Based on Sex (Fairness In Girls' Sports Act). The Hearing on this legislation is scheduled for February 7, 2024.

It is our understanding that this legislation requires certain interscholastic and intramural junior varsity and varsity athletic teams or sports sponsored by certain schools to be expressly designated based on biological sex; prohibiting certain entities from taking certain adverse actions against a school for maintaining separate interscholastic and intramural junior varsity and varsity athletic teams and sports for students of the female sex; and providing that certain individuals have the right to bring a civil action under certain circumstances.

Maintaining the integrity of our girls' sports is of the upmost importance to all our citizens. Cecil County strongly supports this legislation.

The County Executive and County Council of Cecil County respectfully request that the Education, Energy and Environment Committee send a favorable report on SB 0381.

Sincerely,

Danielle Hornberger County Executive

Jackie Gregory
President of County Council