

Wes Moore Governor Aruna Miller Lieutenant Governor Paul J. Wiedefeld Secretary

February 6, 2024

The Honorable Marc Korman Chair, House Environment and Transportation Committee 251 House Office Building Annapolis MD 21401

RE: Letter of Support – House Bill 159 – Common Ownership – Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment (Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Act of 2024)

Dear Chair Korman and Committee Members:

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) supports House Bill 159, as it facilitates the adoption of electric vehicles (EVs) by supporting the right to charge by members of common ownership communities.

House Bill 159 voids provisions in common ownership community bylaws or rules that prohibit or unreasonably restrict the installation or use of EV charging equipment in a parking space that is specifically designated for use by a particular member. If approval by the governing body is required, the governing body must approve the installation as long as the installation does not unreasonably impede the normal use of an area outside the member's parking space and is otherwise reasonably possible.

The ability to charge at home is critical to the adoption of EVs in Maryland and supports the State's goal of having 1.1 million EVs on the road by 2030. EV owners who live in communities that prohibit the installation of electric vehicle recharging must use public charging stations. Charging at a public EV charging station costs more than charging at home and is often less convenient due to the location of the public charging stations, availability of public charging station, or the wait time to charge. By allowing those who live in common ownership communities to install EV charging equipment in the member's specifically designated parking space, it removes an impediment to charging at home.

For these reasons, the Maryland Department of Transportation respectfully requests the Committee grant House Bill 159 a favorable report.

Respectfully submitted,

Pilar Helm Director of Government Affairs Maryland Department of Transportation 410-865-1090