

Albert Turner
Attorney
Public Justice Center
201 North Charles Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
410-625-9409, ext. 250
turnera@publicjustice.org

HB1114 - Real Property - Landlord and Tenant - Procedures for Failure to Pay Rent, Breach of Lease, and Tenant Holding Over

Hearing before the House Environment and Transportation Committee, Feb. 27, 2024

Position: FAVORABLE

The Public Justice Center (PJC) is a nonprofit public interest law firm that stands with tenants to protect and expand their rights to safe, habitable, affordable, and non-discriminatory housing and their rights to fair and equal treatment by Maryland's landlord-tenant laws, courts, and agencies. We advocate to change the law regarding evictions and to demand the development of equitable and sustainable affordable housing. PJC seeks the Committee's Favorable report on HB 1114.

Renters need and deserve reliable notice of the eviction date so that they can exercise their statutory right of redemption ("pay to stay") or make plans to leave the property with their belongings intact Equally, Maryland renters (like most renters in the country) deserve a reclamation period after the eviction occurs, to mitigate the financial and personal loss that evictions cause. A "reclamation period" is a period post-eviction in which a renter can still gain access to their possessions such as life-saving medicine, electronics, and personal treasures such as photos, mementos, and heirlooms.

HB 1114 would 1) provide tenants notice 14 days in advance of their impending eviction dates; and 2) provide tenants the opportunity to reclaim whatever personal possessions are on the property for ten (10) days after the eviction occurs. This is a sensible bill that brings Maryland in line with the rest of the country on executing evictions.

Washington D.C., New Jersey, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Virginia all require that the tenant be given notice of their eviction date and the opportunity to reclaim their personal possessions after their eviction. Moreover, nineteen states and D.C. require the tenant be given notice of their eviction date, the opportunity to reclaim their personal possessions, and require the landlord to perform some duty to store the tenant's possessions during the time of holding. An additional nine states require the tenant be given notice of their eviction date and the opportunity to reclaim their possessions.

HB 1114 is also beneficial to neighborhoods in that it no longer allows for an evicted tenant's belonging to be thrown out on public streets. Currently, in most of Maryland, a tenant's personal belongings are

thrown into the street after an eviction, creating clutter that blocks sidewalks and creates public blight. HB 1114 remedies this issue by requiring the landlord to discard of whatever remaining items that are left in a proper and clean fashion.

Additionally, many jurisdictions currently require landlords to have a specific number of workers, equipment, and resources at the ready to conduct an eviction. Not only is this costly to the landlord, but in the event an eviction is redeemed, cancelled, or postponed, the landlord loses money and resources. Instituting a reclamation period after an executed eviction means that landlords will no longer have to hire 5-6 workers to be present at each eviction. The landlord will now have more flexibility after the end of the 10-day period to dispose of any remaining belongings – without placing those belongings in the public way.

Public Justice Center supports HB 1114 as it would take essential steps to protect renters property and smooths out the eviction process.

Public Justice Center is a member of the Renters United Maryland coalition and asks that the Committee issue a FAVORABLE report on HB 1114. If you have any questions, please contact Albert Turner, Esq., turnera@publicjustice.org (410) 625-9409 Ext. 250.