Danielle Hornberger County Executive

Steven Overbay
Director of Administration

Office: 410.996.5202

Email: dhornberger@ccgov.org



Jackie Gregory Council President

> Robert Meffley Vice President

Office: 410.996.5201 Email: council@ccgov.org

## **CECIL COUNTY GOVERNMENT**

Cecil County Administration Building 200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Elkton, MD 21921

February 1, 2024

The Honorable Marc Kroman
The Honorable Regina T. Boyce
Environment and Transportation Committee
Room 251
House Office Building
Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: HB 0357 – Agriculture - Confinement of Egg-Laying Hens in Commercial Egg Production - Prohibitions
Letter of Opposition

Dear Chairman Kroman, Vice Chair Boyce and Members of the Environment and Transportation Committee,

The County Council and the County Executive of Cecil County unanimously oppose HB 0357 - Agriculture - Confinement of Egg-Laying Hens in Commercial Egg Production – Prohibitions. The hearing on this legislation is scheduled for February 14, 2024.

It is our understanding that this legislation is prohibiting a certain farm owner or operator from knowingly confining egg-laying hens in an enclosure in a certain manner, subject to certain exceptions, on and after January 1, 2026; prohibiting a business owner or operator or a farm owner or operator from selling shell eggs or egg products under certain circumstances on and after January 1, 2026; and specifying that a certain certification verifying that the shell eggs and egg products are produced in a certain manner must be obtained before selling shell eggs and egg products.

Supporting our agricultural community is of the upmost importance to all our citizens and this bill will have an adverse impact on both our farmers and food chain. Cecil County strongly opposes this legislation.

The County Executive and County Council of Cecil County respectfully request that the Environment and Transportation Committee send an unfavorable report on HB 0357.

Sincerely,

Danielle Hornberger

County Executive

Jackie Gregory

President of County Council