TOWN OF RIVERDALE PARK

February 16, 2024

The Honorable Marc Korman Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251 House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Re: Support of House Bill 449 Comprehensive Flood Management Grant Program - Funding for Underserved and Overburdened Communities

Dear Chair Korman and Committee Members:

The Mayor and Council of the Town of Riverdale Park support House Bill 449 - Comprehensive Flood Management Grant Program - Funding for Underserved and Overburdened Communities. HB 449 would require at least 40% of funding provided under the comprehensive flood management grant program to be used for projects located in or directly benefiting underserved or overburdened communities; and require that the Governor includes in the annual State budget an appropriation of at least \$20,000,000 for the comprehensive flood management grant program in fiscal year 2026 and each fiscal year thereafter.

The Town of Riverdale Park has experienced devastating flooding events that have severely impacted Town residents and businesses. The majority of the stormwater management infrastructure in Town is owned and managed by Prince George's County. The Town has serious and urgent concerns about the condition and capacity of Prince George's County stormwater management infrastructure yet recognizes that the size and scope of the tasks required to design, fund, and construct new or improved stormwater infrastructure. The Town is supportive of any efforts to provide additional funding specifically to address the flooding issues that have drastically impacted Town residents and businesses.

Thank you in advance for your consideration of this important legislation. If you require any additional information, please contact me at akthompson@riverdaleparkmd.gov.

Sincerely,

Alan K. Thompson

al & Sh

Mayor

CC: The Honorable Alonzo Washington, Senator, District 22
The Honorable Anne Healey, Delegate, District 22
The Honorable Ashanti Martinez, Delegate, District 22
The Honorable Nicole Williams, Delegate, District 22