## St. Mary's County Government

## COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

## Senate Bill 712 State-Owned Nursing Homes – Deficiencies, Citations and Fines – Reporting Requirements

## SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENTS

February 6, 2024

The Honorable Pamela Beidle, Chair Senate Finance Committee 3 East Miller Senate Office Building 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Beidle:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENTS SB 712- State-Owned Nursing Homes – Deficiencies, Citations and Fines – Reporting Requirements which is being heard in the Finance Committee. The Commissioners of St. Mary's County request that SB 712 be amended to require that "the local governing body in which the nursing home is located" be added to the list to whom a deficiency or enforcement action is reported. Currently SB 712 language states that the deficiency or enforcement action would be given to the Governor, the Senate Finance Committee, the House Health and Government Operations Committee and the members of the General Assembly who represent the district in which the nursing home is located.

We **support with amendments SB 712** and request a favorable report. We appreciate the introduction of this legislation and believe it will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2024/015 Page 2 The Honorable Pamela Beidle, Chair February 6, 2024

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Todd Morgan
Delegate Matthew Morgan
Delegate Brian Crosby
Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.
Commissioner Eric Colvin
Commissioner Michael Hewitt
Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
David Weiskopf, County Administrator
John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney