St. Mary's County Government

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

Senate Bill 712 State-Owned Nursing Homes – Deficiencies, Citations and Fines – Reporting Requirements

SUPPORT AS AMENDED

March 19, 2024

The Honorable Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, Chair Health and Government Operations Committee Room 241 House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Pena-Melnyk:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County SUPPORT SB 712 as amended- State-Owned Nursing Homes – Deficiencies, Citations and Fines – Reporting Requirements which is being heard in the Health and Government Operations Committee.

We support SB 712 as amended and request a favorable report. We appreciate the introduction of this legislation and believe it will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2024/0057

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Todd Morgan

Delegate Matthew Morgan

Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Eric Colvin

Commissioner Michael Hewitt

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 * CHESAPEAKE BUILDING * 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 EXT. 1350 * FAX 301.475.4935 * www.stmarysmd.com * CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV