

# LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-841-3185 ◆ 301-858-3185 ◆ 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 ◆ Fax 410-841-3175 ◆ 301-858-3175 ◆ Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

February 27, 2024

Chairwoman Joseline Pena-Melnyk, 241 House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairwoman Pena-Melnyk and Members of the Committee:

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 962 -State Procurement - Small and Minority Business Reserve Program (Parren J. Mitchell MBE Prime Contracting Act). This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

House Bill 962 is an important piece of legislation that will help address historical disparities and barriers faced by minority-owned businesses and aid in moving our Minority Business Enterprises (MBEs) toward renewed success.

It is serendipitous that this Bill will be heard during Black History Month, as it seeks to honor the remarkable legacy of Parren James Mitchell. In 1950, the Honorable Mitchell sued the University of Maryland for admission into their, then, segregated University and backed by the NAACP, won admission and was the first Black man to graduate from the school; however, that was just the first time he made history. He utilized his education and became the first African American elected to Congress from Maryland in 1971. Parren J. Mitchell was one of the founding members of the Congressional Black Caucus and immediately became an active Member, utilizing his voice and perspective. In his capacity as Chair of the Small Business Committee, Congressman Mitchell submitted an amendment to a \$4 billion piece of public works legislation, mandating state and local governments pursuing federal grants to allocate 10% of the funds to retain minority-owned firms as both contractors and subcontractors.

Fast forward to 2024, HB 962 renames the Small Business Reserve (SBR) Program to be the Small and Minority Business Reserve Program, reflecting a commitment to promoting MBEs within the State procurement process. Additionally, and most notably, the Bill requires State agencies to set-aside 10% of their procurements specifically for Certified MBEs and Veteran Owned Small Business Enterprises. It is a critical piece of legislation to increase the prime contracting procurement opportunities for MBEs and moves Maryland toward its 29% MBE Aspirational participation goal, which the State has consistently failed to meet. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports House Bill 962 and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

#### **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

#### Chair

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

### 1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

#### 2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

#### Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

#### Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

## Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

#### Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

#### **Parliamentarian**

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

## Executive Director

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

**MEMBERS** Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21

Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14

Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41

Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A
Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B
Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B
Delegate Eym Taylor, District 23
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 20
Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28
Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 39
Delegate Caylin Young, District 39