LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 301-858-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Fax 410-841-3175 • 301-858-3175 • Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 7, 2024

Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk Room 241 House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chair Pena-Melnyk and Members of the Health and Government Operations Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland strongly supports **House Bill 965** -Maryland Department of Health - Breast Cancer Program - Eligibility and Public Awareness Campaign, which changes the criteria for eligibility for specific clinical breast examinations and mammograms for screening offered by the Breast Cancer Program to allow women under 45 who are believed to be at high risk for breast cancer, and requires that the Program's public awareness campaign be created and carried out by the Maryland Department of Health. **The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland has voted in support of this bill.**

Black women are more at risk of certain health ailments, and breast cancer is one of those diseases. The prevalence of breast cancer in various racial groups as well as relevant guidelines from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) must be taken into account by MDH when classifying individuals as high-risk. This bill will be a hope for Black women to possibly get ahead of breast cancer if they potentially have it.

House Bill 965 is a commendable effort to encourage qualified people to become part of the public awareness campaign that must be created by MDH. This campaign will help a lot of women get ahead of their illnesses and possibly treat them before they become untreatable. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports **House Bill 965** and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland



EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20 **1st Vice Chair** Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25 **Treasurer**

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40 Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26 Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43 Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alanzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District B Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45