Del. Edith J. Patterson, District 28 President

DEL. NICOLE A. WILLIAMS, DISTRICT 22 President-elect

DEL. DANA C. JONES, DISTRICT 30A 1st Vice-President

DEL. MICHELE J. GUYTON, DISTRICT 42B 2nd Vice-President

Del. Karen Toles, District 25 Parliamentarian



Del. Brooke Grossman, District 2B Secretary

Del. Pamela E. Queen, District 14 *Treasurer*

Del. Linda K. Foley, District 15 *At Large*

Del. Jennifer A. White Holland, District 10 At Large

WOMEN LEGISLATORS OF MARYLAND THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

March 13, 2024

The Honorable Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk Chair, House Health and Government Operations Committee House Office Building, Room 241 6 Bladen St Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chair Joseline A. Pena-Malnyk,

On behalf of the majority of the Women Legislators of Maryland members, we are writing to support **HB961 State Government – Commission on New Americans - Established**.

This bill establishes the Commission on New Americans to study and periodically report on the contributions of new Americans and the availability of government services for new Americans. This legislation ensures the contributions of New Americans as well as their children are acknowledged and documented. The Women Legislators of Maryland fully support all women, including New American women being appropriately supported and we acknowledge that they frequently may go without the support that is needed and, therefore, offer full support for this bill.

Sincerely,

Edith Hatterson

Delegate Edith J. Patterson President