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Revision to Scoring the Juvenile Record 

The Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP) has revised the instructions in 

the Maryland Sentencing Guidelines Manual (MSGM) and the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 

for scoring the juvenile delinquency component of the offender score. Part B of the offender score, juvenile 

delinquency, instructs that points shall be scored for offenders younger than 23 years old with findings of a 

delinquent act within five years of the date of the most recent instant offense. When determining the 

number of findings of delinquency, the instructions state that only one finding of a delinquent act (i.e., 

finding of facts sustained at an adjudicatory hearing) should be counted for a single adjudicatory hearing. 

Further, when the defense or State can show that a finding of a delinquent act did not result in the youth’s 

adjudication as delinquent at a juvenile disposition hearing, the finding of a delinquent act shall not be 

scored as a part of the juvenile record.  

The current revision provides the additional instruction that the juvenile delinquency record may not 

include adjudications based on acts that are no longer crimes. This revision is consistent with the 

instructions for scoring part C of the offender score, prior adult criminal record, which state that the prior 

adult criminal record shall not include adjudications based on acts that are no longer crimes. 

The above language was adopted in the applicable section of COMAR effective October 1, 2022. The 

affected section of the MSGM (version 14.1) is MSGM ¶ 7.1.B. Juvenile Delinquency (page 25). 

 

Offense Type Reclassification for Arson, 1st Degree 

The MSCCSP has changed the offense type classification for Arson, 1st degree from property offense to 

person offense. This revision reflects the substantial risk of harm that Arson, 1st degree poses to dwelling 

inhabitants as well as first responders. The revision was adopted in COMAR effective October 1, 2022. A 

print friendly version of the updated Guidelines Offense Table (Appendix A of the MSGM) is available on 

the MSCCSP website. This file is searchable by key word, CJIS Code, Source, etc. Please discard any 

prior versions of the Guidelines Offense Table, as information in prior versions may no longer be accurate. 

Additionally, practitioners will now see two entries for Arson, 1st degree in the Maryland Automated 

Guidelines System (MAGS) offense table – (1) an entry for offenses sentenced prior to October 1, 2022, 

with the property offense type designation and (2) an entry for offenses sentenced on/after October 1, 

2022, with the person offense type designation. MAGS will calculate the guidelines range based on the 

sentencing matrix (property or person) corresponding to the offense selected. 
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http://msccsp.org/Files/Guidelines/MSGM/guidelinesmanual.pdf
http://www.msccsp.org/Files/Guidelines/offensetable.pdf
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Entries for Child Abuse Violations Prior to October 1, 2003, Added to MAGS Offense 

Table 

In response to practitioner requests, three offense entries for child abuse violations occurring prior to 

October 1, 2003 have been added to the MAGS offense table. Prior to October 1, 2003, the maximum 

penalty for Child abuse-physical and Child abuse-sexual was 15 years. Effective October 1, 2003, House 

Bill 588 established child abuse in the first and second degrees, and increased the penalties for Child abuse-

physical, 1st degree and Child abuse-sexual from 15 years to 25 years. In order to accommodate worksheets 

for current sentencing events involving child abuse violations that occurred prior to October 1, 2003 when 

the statutory maximum was 15 years, the following three offense entries were added to the offense table in 

MAGS:  

Source Offense 
Statutory 

Maximum 

Offense 

Type 

Seriousness 

Category1 

27, §35C(b)(1) Child Abuse - General (OFFENSE DATE prior 

to 10/1/03; analogous to Child Abuse-Physical, 

1st degree) 

15Y Person II 

27, §35C(b)(1) Child Abuse - General (OFFENSE DATE prior 

to 10/1/03; analogous to Child Abuse-Sexual) 

15Y Person II 

27, §35C(b)(1) Child Abuse - General (OFFENSE DATE prior 

to 10/1/03; analogous to Child Abuse-Physical, 

2nd degree) 

15Y Person IV 

1 The offense seriousness categories in effect at the time of sentencing shall be used to calculate the guidelines. 

 

 
 


