

Wes Moore Governor Aruna Miller Lieutenant Governor Paul J. Wiedefeld Secretary Christine Nizer

Administrator

Current Resident
<Fstrstreet> <unit>
<fstrcity>, MD <fstrzip>
<Date>

Dear Customer,

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) has recently learned that an individual residing at <fstrstreet> owns a vehicle(s) that is titled and registered in Virgina. Maryland law (Transportation Article §13-402) requires that a vehicle be registered in Maryland within 60 days of moving to Maryland. If you delay beyond 60 days, you will not be eligible for a tax credit for any titling tax paid in another state, and you may be subject to a citation for an out of state registration.

The MVA's Division of Investigations and Security Services, the Maryland State Police and local law enforcement agencies, share the responsibility in enforcing this requirement. Failing to comply could result in a citation which carries a fine of up to \$500. Violators' vehicles could also be towed for not fulfilling the registration requirement and not having the required levels of automobile insurance required by Maryland law.

The exceptions to the requirement include active-duty military members, university students, temporary employees, and medical visitors. To see if you qualify for an exemption, visit our website at https://mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/Pages/info/27300/27300-60T.aspx or call our Customer Service Center at 410-768-7000.

If you do not fall into one of these exempt categories, we urge you to promptly title and register your vehicle(s) in Maryland. You can apply for a Maryland title and registration with an appointment in person at any of the MVA's 24 branch offices statewide. To make an appointment please visit our online services and complete a pre-application for Title and Registration: https://mymva.maryland.gov/go/web/TitleRegPreApp.

Sincerely, Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration