

Wes Moore Governor

Aruna Miller Lieutenant Governor

Paul J. Wiedefeld Secretary

Christine Nizer Administrator

SB 357 Out-of-State Vehicles – Improper Registration Fact Sheet

With exception to non-residents, Maryland law requires that new residents of Maryland must title and register their vehicles within sixty (60) days. Examples of non-resident exceptions under statute include students, military members, temporary employees, and visitors.

While the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) shall only register Maryland customers, the Commonwealth of Virginia permits <u>non-residents</u> to register their vehicles with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

In January 2024, the MVA identified nearly 34,000 individuals with Maryland addresses with vehicles registered in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The MVA issued correspondence that customers may be in violation of Maryland law (Transportation Article §13-402), and would need to take immediate corrective action.

What enforcement options are available to the MVA?

- Citation TR § 13-403(a)(1): the MVA may issue a traffic citation that carries a pre-set fine of \$290, or a maximum fine of \$500.
- Tag Removal TR § 12-110 (a)(3): the MVA has the authority to take possession of another jurisdiction plate that is displayed illegally. The MVA must investigate and have a reasonable basis for concluding that the plate is in violation of TR § 13-401(c) and § 13-402(a) registration requirements.

What due diligence is performed?

Upon receipt of an out-of-state registration complaint, MVA Investigations will query the license plate using the National Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (NLETS) to identify the vehicle owner. The investigator will visit the address on record to contact the owner, and inform them that they have 60 days (from the date of contact) to register their vehicle with the MVA. If the owner is unavailable or refuses to respond, the Investigator will leave an MVA Form IS-034 (see below).

After 60 days, the Investigator will verify whether the customer has complied. If the customer has failed to update their registration, the MVA may issue a traffic citation.

In the event that a customer repeatedly refuses to comply, the MVA may seize the vehicle license plates with the assistance of local/state law enforcement. In Calendar Year 2023, the MVA investigated ten complaints involving 14 Virginia license plates.

The MVA has also received feedback from at least 1 local law enforcement jurisdiction authorizes their officers when pulling a vehicle over for other traffic enforcement issues, to question the owner about the residential address and use information from NLETS to identify when the out of state license was obtained to cite the driver with a violation of failing to register their vehicle in Maryland.

How does the MVA enforcement the advertisement of out of state tags?

Upon being notified or identifying an individual / company advertising the ability to obtain an out of state tag, MVA Investigations immediately contacts the number / address and begins an investigation. If it is determined that a Maryland title service company is advertising this service, the MVA will order the company to remove their signage. If there is no action, MVA Investigations will remove the sign and refer to Business Licensing for administrative action, which could include fines up to \$1,000 per violation, license suspensions, etc. For non-licensed companies MVA Investigations will inform the individual of the illegal nature of their action and ask them to comply with Maryland law.

Sample IS-034 Form





Register your vehicle!

All Maryland residents are required to have their vehicles titled and registered with the state of Maryland.

You're a Maryland resident if you:

- 1. Maintain a permanent home in Maryland
- 2. Own, lease, or rent a primary place of residence in Maryland
- 3. Reside in Maryland for more than one year, regardless of your home location
- 4. Maintain a branch office or warehouse facility in Maryland
- 5. File as a Maryland resident for income tax purposes

Start your vehicle registration here:



https://mymva.maryland.gov/ go/web/TitleRegPreApp

MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION