Del. Edith J. Patterson, District 28 President

DEL. NICOLE A. WILLIAMS, DISTRICT 22 President-elect

DEL. DANA C. JONES, DISTRICT 30A 1st Vice-President

DEL. MICHELE J. GUYTON, DISTRICT 42B 2nd Vice-President

Del. Karen Toles, District 25 Parliamentarian



Del. Brooke Grossman, District 2B Secretary

Del. Pamela E. Queen, District 14 *Treasurer*

Del. Linda K. Foley, District 15 *At Large*

Del. Jennifer A. White Holland, District 10 At Large

WOMEN LEGISLATORS OF MARYLAND THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

February 12, 2024

The Honorable William C. Smith, Jr Chair, Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee Miller Senate Office Building 6 Bladen St Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chair William C. Smith Jr,

On behalf of the majority of the Women Legislators of Maryland members, we are writing to support **SB413 Discrimination** – **Military Status - Prohibition**. This legislation has been identified as one of our priorities for the 2024 legislative session.

This bill prohibits discrimination based on military status with regard to public accommodation, housing, employment, financial transactions, education, insurance, the provision of public utility services, and state personnel actions. This legislation protects those who hold a military status from discrimination. The Women Legislators of Maryland fully support veterans and their families and, therefore, offer full support for this bill.

Sincerely,

Edith Hatterson

Delegate Edith J. Patterson President