

CALVERT COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

175 Main Street
Prince Frederick, Maryland 20678
410-535-1600 • 301-855-1243
www.calvertcountymd.gov

Board of Commissioners
Mark C. Cox Sr.
Catherine M. Grasso
Earl F. Hance
Mike Hart
Todd Ireland

February 28, 2024

The Honorable Senator William C. Smith, Jr., Chair Judicial Proceedings Committee 2 East Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: SB0793 - Maryland Tort Claims Act - Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs - County Responsibility

Chair Smith, Vice Chair Waldstreicher, and Committee Members:

The Board of County Commissioners for Calvert County writes to **SUPPORT SB0793** and ask the Committee for a **FAVORABLE REPORT**. We appreciate Senator West's efforts to bring some certainty and clarity to obligations where today we find conflicting opinions and uncertainty.

Should you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact County Administrator Julian M. Willis at 410-535-1600, extension 2201, or County Attorney John Norris at 410-535-1600, extension 2566. Thank you for your kind consideration of our position regarding this important Bill.

Sincerely,

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS CALVERT COUNTY, MARYLAND

Earl F. Hance, President

Catherine M. Grasso, Vice Presiden

Mark C. Cox Sr.

Mike Hart

Todd Ireland

cc: The Honorable Senator Michael Jackson The Honorable Senator Jack Bailey The Honorable Senator Chris West