

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 301-858-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Fax 410-841-3175 • 301-858-3175 • Black Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 7, 2024

Chairman Luke Clippinger 6 Bladen Street, House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Clippinger and Members of the Judiciary Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 1037 Task Force on the Creation of a Division of Returning Citizens and Expanded Reentry Services – Establishment, a bill that will create a Task Force in charge of helping returning citizens look for re-entry services to ensure a seamless transition back to civilian life. This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

Although Black people make up 29% of all Maryland residents, they are grossly overrepresented in our state's jails and prisons. Black Marylanders make up 71% and 59% of our jails and prisons, respectively. On average, Maryland releases 7,400 people from prison annually; however, they often have trouble looking for resources to help them transition back to civilian life.

House Bill 1037 will establish a Task Force that will help returning citizens locate re-entry services to help them start their lives anew. Black Marylanders will especially benefit from the services and programs provided to them by the Department of Corrections and Public Safety under this new Task Force. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports **House Bill** 1037 and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39

Delegate Caylin Young, District 45