Support the Ballot Petition Modernization Act HB 1109/SB 1029

Sign On To Letter Of Support

The Ballot Petition Modernization Act has been introduced to the Maryland General Assembly for the 2024 session. The House Bill (<u>HB1109</u>) is Sponsored by Delegate Sheila Ruth. The Senate Bill (SB 1029) is sponsored by Senator Jill Carter.

Signing a petition to put an independent candidate, a small party, a local charter amendment or a state referendum on the ballot is a right all Maryland voters have. Currently voters provide their name, address and signature via handwriting on paper forms. These forms then have to be read by State and Local Board of Elections staff, and if any handwriting is difficult to read or does not exactly match the information in the state voter database, a voter's signature can be thrown out.

This legislation makes it easier and more accessible for voters to exercise this right by allowing for electronic signatures on petitions, and clarifying the administrative processes by which the state and local boards evaluate submitted petitions. Electronic signatures were allowed by the State Board of Elections during the COVID State of Emergency. State Board of Elections Administrator Jared Demarinis has described electronic signatures to the Baltimore Sun as "successful". Now it is time for lawmakers to make this common sense improvement permanent.

We ask our legislators to support the Ballot Petition Modernization Act

s.andrew.ellis@gmail.com Switch account





Not shared

* Indicates required question



Individual Signers

Owen Silverman Andrews

Dana Polson

Charlotte McBrearty

Mary Rooker

Ashley Esposito

Andy Ellis

Andrew S Eneim

Zack Buster

Darrell Roary

Bonnie Lane

John Frederick Miles Jr

Beth Hufnagel

Jason Harris

Devonie Doles

Erik Powery

Robert Alex Stubblefield

Christina Meninger

Hiruy Hadgu

Kyle Long

Sterling Sanders

Karen L Jennings

Justin Legrande

Edward Scott

Kenneth Ross Aro

John R. Robison

Matthew Beyers

Michael O'Loughlin

Brandon Barrett

Nate Golden

Renaud Brown

Charlie Cooper

Craig Collins-Young

Jennifer Yukna

Benjamin Smith

Bill Barry

Marsha Coleman

Hal Ginsberg

Linda D Saffell

Christopher Ervin

James Joseph Madigan

Jeremy Collins

Matthew Robert Willis

Mark Patro

Tim Willard

Lucy Duff

Marjory M. Donn



Zhimei Zhu

Paulette Hammond

Roberta Reichwein

Robert Benton

David Brown

Philip Benenati

Carol Ann Billett

Justin Sindall

Barbara Weaver

Conner Wolfe

Jason Makstein

Ari Gutman

Catalina Byrd

Kirk Douglas Smith Sr.

Edward Joseph Ridge

Jeanne Lehning

Brian Bittner

David Jeang

Lorenzo Gaztanaga

Meagan Buster

Megan Kenny

Charly Carter

Sim Low

Paul Kim

Mairin Srygley

Lyla Atta

Meagan Braganca

Travis Acton

Nicole Fabricanf

Justin Otter

Eric J. Blitz

ako onyango

Ailish Hopper

Marc Ben Steiner

Vincent S. Tola

Ethan Eblaghie

Theodore Nehemias

Christine E Frink

Councilman Ryan Dorsey

Michael Lent

Mary G Ellis

Mary Welliver-Dillon

Desmond Stinnie

Rebecca Hade Pobee

Dr. Sandy G. Mason

A. Adar Ayira

Chuck Modiano

Cam Cassidy



Timothy Vandover

Eric Miller

Russell Rezek

Peter Matchette

Chelsea Monae Sherman

Jeenly Louis

Denise Parker

Jonathan Wynn Smith

Andrew J. Barnhart

Inas El-Sabban

farid najmabadi

Ian Thompson

Ahmad Gharanfoli

Jennifer Heffner

Jane Simpson

Nancy Delgado

William Samuel

Louis Brendan Curran, Esq.

Claudia Leight

Helen Hooper Butt

Natalie H. Rees

Joan B MacDonnell

Tim A Vettel

Wayne Straight

Pat Ratkowski

Taji Amani

Forest Henry Book

Ronald Stephen Regnier

Peter Oliver-Krueger

Liv Romano

Calvin C. Martin

Dave Renaud

Ellen E Barfield

Andrew Messick

Bill McCarron

Br. Merrick Moses, OSB

Arthur Milholland

Alison L. MacKenzie

Paula Bienenfeld

Moisette I. Sweat, Esquire

Kim Jensen

Paul A Baroody

Christine Rai

Danah harbi

Diana Reighart

Paige Passanrtino

Michael J Goodhues

Jeffrey R. Russell

Deborah Schumann



Kelly Esslinger

Loraine Arikat

Mark Lautman

Dan Ragogna

Ingrid Sabio-McLaughlin

J Little

Marisha Leiblum

Julie Baker

Christina Powell

David Bullman

Stacey St. Holder

Mohammad Siddique

Doris Koller

Muhammad Jameel

Adam Wise

Michael Redding

Daniel Whalen

Kimberly Katz

Rachel Bush Erdman

Andrew Ferree

Monica Hilliard

Alice Noel Barrett, Esq.

Bess Altwerger

Leland H Bradshaw

Allison Seyler

Christine Shea

Eric Gresia

Daniel Ross

Kris Messer

Amber Ivey

Who is circulating this petition and why?

This sign on letter is circulated by Andy Ellis as an individual. Andy has worked with the Administrators of the State Board of Elections and the bill sponsors since 2020 to advance electronic signatures and ballot petition reform.

This sign on letter will be shared with bill sponsors, included in Andy's written testimony, and the information provided will be for Andy to contact you with additional information about this legislation.

