

The County Commissioners of Kent County

Ronald H. Fithian, President | Albert H. Nickerson, Member | John F. Price, Member Shelley L. Heller, County Administrator | Thomas N. Yeager, County Attorney

February 5, 2025

The Honorable Jay A. Jacobs 309 Lowe House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401-1912

The Honorable Steven J. Arentz 308 Lowe House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401-1912

The Honorable Jefferson L. Ghrist 430 Lowe House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401-1912

RE: SUPPORT Senate Bill 0843 / House Bill 0736 School Construction – Local Cost-Share-Alterations

Dear Delegates Jacobs, Arentz, and Ghrist:

On behalf of the County Commissioners of Kent County, Maryland, this letter serves as support for Senate Bill 0843 / House Bill 0736 - School Construction - Local Cost-Share - Alterations. Kent County Government's ability to fund its share of the Kent County Middle School modernization project will critically depend on increased State funding participation. Therefore, our support for the project is conditional upon the level of State funding participation achieved.

Kent County fully supports SB0843 and HB0736 as drafted.

Very truly yours,

Shelley L. Heller County Administrator

cc: The County Commissioners of Kent County The Honorable Stephen S. Hershey, Jr.Dr. Mary Boswell-McComas, Superintendent, Kent County Public Schools