

Bill: SB 198/HB 20 - Transportation Investment Priorities Act of 2025

Position: Support with Amendments

Dear Chair, Vice Chair, and Members of the Committee:

On behalf of the City of Gaithersburg, I write to express our general support for SB 198/HB 20, which aims to enhance the prioritization and transparency of transportation projects within the Consolidated Transportation Program (CTP). We believe this legislation represents a significant step toward more effective transportation planning and resource allocation in Maryland. We also appreciate the MD Department of Transportation meeting with us to share this information and hear some of our concerns. We respectfully request the following amendments:

Inclusion of Municipal Representation:

Amend § 2–203 of the bill to require that at least one member be an employee of the Maryland Municipal League (MML).

Municipalities play a crucial role in local transportation planning and implementation. Ensuring representation from MML will provide a stronger voice for cities and towns in the scoring and prioritization process.

Clarification on Advocacy for Non-Municipal Projects:

Provide guidance on how municipalities can voice support for critical regional projects that they do not initiate or manage, such as the I-270 North project, within the project scoring portal.

Municipalities need a clear mechanism to express the importance of large-scale, state-led transportation projects that have significant local and regional impacts but are not directly managed by the municipality. This will ensure that such projects receive appropriate consideration within the prioritization process.

We appreciate the commitment to enhancing Maryland's transportation infrastructure and we respectfully request your support with the above amendments. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Jud Ashman, Mayor City of Gaithersburg

City of Gaithersburg • 31 South Summit Avenue, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877-2038 301-258-6300 • FAX 301-948-6149 • cityhall@gaithersburgmd.gov • gaithersburgmd.gov

MAYOR Jud Ashman COUNCIL MEMBERS Neil Harris Lisa Henderson Yamil Hernández Jim McNulty Robert Wu CITY MANAGER Tanisha R. Briley