The Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County

Board Members
David L. Willenborg - Chairman
Richard D. Watts - Vice-Chairman
George Anas. - Member
Richard Shin- Member

February 13, 2025

P.O. Box 653 41650 Tudor Hall Road Leonardtown, MD 20650 (301) 475-4200 x1600

Chris Beaver - Attorney
Tamara E. Hildebrand - Board Administrator
Suzan E. Dean - Administrative Coordinator
Kevin M. Hall - Inspector
Dep. Steve Myers - Alcohol Enforcement
Coordinator

Barbara Hill - Member E-Mail: tamara.hildebrand@stmaryscountymd.gov

HB574 St. Mary's County - Alcoholic Beverages Licenses - Multiple Licensing Plans

The Honorable C.T. Wilson Chair, House Economic Matters Committee 230 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: The Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County Support of Pending Legislation

Dear Chairman Wilson:

The purpose of this letter is to memorialize the findings of The Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County and provide information to our lawmakers in Annapolis on the request for support of pending legislation for changes to the Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Article, affecting St. Mary's County.

The St. Mary's County Alcohol Beverage Board met on November 14, 2024, and addressed the request of the St. Mary's County Department of Economic Development to provide support of pending draft legislation pertaining to the Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Article, allowing a person to hold a maximum of three Class B restaurant licenses. Currently St. Mary's County only allows a person to hold one Class B restaurant license.

Mr. John Houser, St. Mary's County Deputy Attorney and Ms. Kellie Hinkle, Deputy Director for St. Mary's County Department of Economic Development, presented the request. The Board stated that they preferred any additional licenses issued be restricted to on sale only. Both Mr. Houser and Ms. Hinkle were agreeable. Therefore, I am pleased to inform you that the Board voted in favor of support for this request by the St. Mary's County Department of Economic Development.

Please contact me via the Board Administrator, Mrs. Tamara E. Hildebrand, at (301) 475-4200, ext. 1600, or at <u>tamara.hildebrand@stmaryscountymd.gov</u> for any additional information you may require.

Sincerely,

David Willenborg

Chair ABBSMC

Cc: Commissioners of St. Marys County

John Houser, Deputy Attorney, St. Mary's Office of the County Attorney Kellie Hinkle, Deputy Director, St. Mary's County Dept. of Economic

Development

Maryland Delegation District 29, A, B, & C

Senator John D. Bailey