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SUPPORT

Thank you for this opportunity to submit written testimony concerning an important priority of the
Montgomery County Women’s Democratic Club (WDC) for the 2025 legislative session. WDC is one
of Maryland'’s largest and most active Democratic clubs with hundreds of politically active members,
including many elected officials.

WDC urges the passage of HB1400 — No Tax on Tips Bill. This bill will incrementally increase the State
minimum wage from the current $15/hour to $20/hour by July 1, 2028, and end Maryland’s two-tier wage
system for tipped workers by incrementally increasing the current $3.63 sub-minimum wage for tipped
workers to $20/hour by July 1, 2028. Beginning July 1, 2028, an employer may not include an earned tip
credit as part of a covered employee’s wage and shall pay the employee at least the State minimum
wage of $20/hour. Before January 1, 2029, (when the two-tiered wage system ends), a tipped worker
may claim a State income tax credit of 50 percent of the difference between the minimum wage paid and
the tip credit. This bill also prohibits a food service facility from charging a service fee unless such fee is
prominently disclosed and must state whether the service fee is paid directly to the employees.

Although the State raised the minimum wage to $15/hour on January 1, 2024, there was no provision
made to adjust the minimum wage over time to reflect changes in the CPI (Consumer Price Index). The
tipped sub-minimum wage reached $3.63/hour in 2009 and has not increased since then. Over time, the
gap between the sub-minimum wage and the prevailing minimum wage has grown — requiring an
increasing amount of tips to make up the difference. This system results in significant inequities, including
different pay rates for tipped “front-of the house” employees (waiters, bartenders) and salaried “back of
the house” employees (cooks, bussers, dishwashers). Many restaurant patrons are unaware that their
tips subsidize those restaurant owners who pay the sub-minimum tipped wage. Employees of high-end
fine dining restaurants may earn significantly more than the State minimum wage, while most tipped
workers do not — and because of a high rate of wage-theft, they may not even earn the State minimum
wage for fear of reporting their employers and losing their jobs. Forty two percent of tipped workers have
a family income under $50,000 per year. One-third of tipped workers have a family income less than
double the federal poverty line. Nationally, tipped workers are 70 percent women, and 43 percent people
of color. 30 percent are parents. Also, tipped workers have the highest rate of sexual harassment of any
industry because they must tolerate inappropriate customer behavior to ensure a good tip.

We ask for your support for HB1400 and strongly urge a favorable Committee report. This bill will
end Maryland’s inequitable sub-minimum wage for tipped workers. Although it does not add a provision
to adjust the minimum wage for inflation, it does provide for incremental increases in the minimum wage
to $20/hour by July 1, 2028 — closer to the Maryland 2024 living wage for a single adult of $26.17/hour.
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