**CAROLYN A. QUATTROCKI** Chief Deputy Attorney General

> **LEONARD J. HOWIE III** Deputy Attorney General

> **CARRIE J. WILLIAMS** Deputy Attorney General

**ZENITA WICKHAM HURLEY** Chief, Equity, Policy, and Engagement



## STATE OF MARYLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

## ANTHONY G. BROWN Attorney General

January 24, 2025

WILLIAM D. GRUHN Division Chief

**PETER V. BERNS** *General Counsel* 

**CHRISTIAN E. BARRERA** *Chief Operating Officer* 

**KIRA WILPONE-WELBORN** Assistant Attorney General

To: The Honorable Marc Korman Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee

From: Kira Wilpone-Welborn, Assistant Attorney General Consumer Protection Division

Re: House Bill 273 – Residential Leases - Late Payment Penalties - Calculation (SUPPORT)

The Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General (the "Division") supports House Bill 273 sponsored by Delegate Nick Allen. House Bill 273 clarifies that when calculating late fees under Section 8-208, the maximum late fee a landlord is permitted to charge is 5% of "the unpaid rent due."

Landlord-tenant complaints are consistently among the top complaints received each year by the Division, including complaints about the misallocation of rental payments and excessive late fee charges. House Bill 273 clearly identifies that the maximum penalty a landlord can charge a tenant for unpaid rental amounts is 5% of the amount unpaid, instead of 5% of the full monthly rental amount. That clarification is consistent with the intent of Section 8-208 of the Real Property Article, which caps the late fee at 5% of the "rent due," but some landlords misread the statute to permit the late fee to be based on the amount of rent that had been due. The clarification provided by House Bill 273 would assist the Division in mediating complaints from tenants and provide greater continuity for Maryland renters.

Accordingly, the Division requests that the Environment and Transportation Committee give House Bill 273 a favorable report.

cc: The Honorable Nick Allen Members, Environment and Transportation Committee