
 
 
 

 
 

Maryland Department of Agriculture 
 

Legislative Comment 
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BILL NUMBER: ​ SB 264/HB 244 

SHORT TITLE: ​ Plant Disease Control - Nurseries - Inspection, Certification, and 

Licensing Fees 

MDA POSITION: ​ SUPPORT  

 

This legislation grants the Maryland Department of Agriculture (MDA) the authority to alter the fees 
charged for inspecting nursery stock. It will alter certain fees for the certification of nurseries and the 
licensing of brokers and dealers and give us the ability to more efficiently regulate the nursery 
industry, increasing the Special Fund budget of the Plant Protection and Weed Management (PPWM) 
section. The nursery and landscaping industry has grown exponentially in recent years, requiring an 
increase in statewide inspections. 
 
Maryland law requires anyone who advertises, sells, installs, or produces nursery stock to be licensed 
with MDA. The last time these fees were increased was in 2004. In order for the PPWM unit to 
continue operating efficiently, they must have the ability to charge fees in keeping with inflation. As 
a specially funded program, the salaries and operating costs are funded by the fees collected. 
 
An inspection fee based on the number of acres in production would increase as follows:  

●​ 1 acre or less, [$10] $20 
●​ More than 1 acre to 5 acres, [$20] $30  
●​ More than 5 acres to 10 acres, [$30] $40 
●​ More than 10 acres, [$3] $5 for each acre, or part of any acre, up to a maximum of [$1,000] 

$1,500.  

The annual nursery certification fee increases to [$100] $150. Additionally, each broker or dealer 
license fee will increase to [$100] $150. 

The MDA thanks the Committee for your consideration and respectfully requests a favorable report 
on HB 244. 
 
If you have additional questions, please contact Rachel Jones, Director of Government Relations, at 
rachel.jones2@maryland.gov or 410-841-5886.  

 

mailto:rachel.jones2@maryland.gov

