

## County Commissioners:

James J. Moran, At Large Jack N. Wilson, Jr., District 1 J. Patrick McLaughlin, District 2 Philip L. Dumenil, District 3 Christopher M. Corchiarino, District 4

March 10, 2025

The Honorable Marc Korman Chairman, Environment and Transportation Committee House Office Building, Room 231 Annapolis MD 21401

RE: HB1236 – Local Government - Queen Anne's County - Municipalities - Speed Limits SUPPORT

Dear Chairman Korman,

Please consider this letter of support for House Bill 1236. This bill would authorize municipalities in Queen Anne's County to decrease the maximum speed limit to not less than 15 miles per hour on highways **within their municipality** without performing an engineering and traffic investigation.

We support this legislation and urge a favorable recommendation.

Respectfully,

QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Christopher M. Corchiarino, President

Jack N. Wilson, Jr.

Philip L. Dumenil

## THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY

The Liberty Building 107 North Liberty Street Centreville, MD 21617

e-mail: QACCommissioners&Administrator@gac.org

County Administrator: Todd R. Mohn, PE Executive Assistant to County Commissioners: Stephanie L. Jarrell County Attorney: Patrick Thompson, Esquire

James J. Moran

J. Patrick McLaughlin