DELEGATE JESSE T. PIPPY
DELEGATION CHAIR

SENATOR WILLIAM G. FOLDEN
DELEGATION VICE CHAIR



THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY Annapolis, Maryland 21401 FREDERICK COUNTY DELEGATION

SENATORS

PAUL D. CORDERMAN KAREN LEWIS YOUNG JUSTIN READY

DELEGATES

CHRISTOPHER ERIC BOUCHAT
BARRIE S. CILIBERTI
KRIS FAIR
KENNETH P. KERR
APRIL FLEMING MILLER
APRIL ROSE
KAREN SIMPSON
CHRIS TOMLINSON
WILLIAM VALENTINE
WILLIAM WIVELL

January 24, 2025

The Honorable Marc Korman Chair, Environment and Transportation, Maryland House of Delegates 6 Bladen Street, Room 251 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chair Korman,

The Frederick County Delegation supports *HB222/SB 175 - Public Safety - Corrugated Stainless Steel Tubing for Fuel Gas Piping Systems - Requirements and Prohibitions*. This legislation increases safety standards for corrugated stainless-steel tubing (CSST) and prohibits the sale, transfer, or distribution of CSST that does not meet the safety requirements.

CSST is a product used to carry gas in homes and commercial buildings and is prone to failure due to lighting strikes that can result in fires and explosions. The malfunctioning of this product was responsible for the two line of duty deaths of Frederick County Battalion Chief Josh Laird and Howard County Lieutenant Nathan Flynn. Legislation passed in 2022 prohibited the use of non-arc resistant CSST, but this standard alone is not enough to prevent malfunctions of the product.

HB 222/SB 175 would prohibit the sale, transfer, or distribution of CSST that is not capable of withstanding 36 Coulombs of electrical arcing charge. This standard will ensure that CSST is able to withstand lightning strikes without malfunction, thus protecting our first responders and residents from CSST fires. The State has a duty to ensure the materials used in our buildings are safe and resistant to malfunction that could lead to fires and explosions. Ensuring that CSST is resistant to lightning strikes is a step in the right direction. I urge a favorable report on HB222/SB175.

Sincerely,

Del. Jesse T. Pippy – Chair

Sen. William Folden - Vice Chair