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My name is Louise Weissman. | am a resident of D22 in Greenbelt, Prince Georges County. |
am submitting this testimony in support of HB767, the Tenant Possessions Recovery Act. |
believe the legislation is a crucial step toward ensuring that when tenants are given notice of an
impending eviction, they also receive a reasonable period of time to gather their personal
possessions if the eviction were to be executed.

| am a 72 year old retiree, and a tenant in an apartment complex in Greenbelt in Prince
George’s County. | am in a better position than many who typically face eviction, especially
Black and Brown families. | receive Social Security and a small pension. | have some retirement
savings. Still, | needed someone to co-sign my lease, as | do not qualify for the 30% income
required. Maryland’s tenant laws do not support tenants. These are times of uncertainty and
with prospects that Social Security and Medicare will be reduced, if not eliminated, | worry,

Jewish text acknowledges that housing is more than a roof over one's head. When an individual
or family is denied safe housing, they lose their dignity. Taking away their possessions can rob
their family for generations to come. The sight of possessions moved to the curb or locked in the
property amplifies the trauma experienced. The Tenant Possessions Recovery Act (SB767)
would alleviate some of trauma by requiring landlords to give 14 days’ notice of the pending
eviction and a 10-day window to reclaim belongings while the eviction is executed.

Evictions are traumatizing. Tenants especially when families lose all their belongings. In
Maryland, when tenants are evicted from their homes, they lose more than a roof over their
heads. They also lose a sense of stability, their dignity, as well as their possessions.

Maryland Tenant Law does not require that tenants receive notice of their eviction date nor
possession reclamation window. This is out of line with best practices in 46 other states. The
Tenant Possessions Recovery Act will require that tenants have a ten-day window to reclaim
their possessions before a landlord can dispose of them. It ensures tenants are treated with
respect and it gives more certainty to landlords, keep our streets clean, and communities safe,

Respectfully | urge this committee to return a favorable report on HB#767.. Thank you.



