
300 ft200 ft150 ft100 ft

VA min 200ft > 35mph

VA min 100ft < 35mph

PA 150ft-300ft

MD 100 ft 
Stop/Pop

Stop/Pop (m)

NY 300 ft

*PA Commercial Drivers License Manual Section 2.6.1, has a different Figure 2.11 that shows a dramatic decrease in the reaction time, 
and a dramatic increase in Vehicle Breaking Distance.  It should be noted PA has a Shorter Stopping Distance with the exception on 55 

mph (451 ft Total Stopping Distance)

Perception/Reactionary Time

Maryland Warning Light Requirement, MD 22-228 (d)

Virginia Warning Light Requirement, VA 46.2-1090

Pennsylvania Warning Light Requirement, PA Title 75 Sec. 3345

New York Warning Light Requirement, NY CDL Section 10.2.1

CT 100 ft

Connecticut Warning Light Requirement, SEC. 14-277 

FL min 200 ft

 Florida Warning Light Requirement, Statute 316.172 (3)
State Board of Education BSBOC

. Stop/Pop (m)

Note: Two vehicles approaching 
one another will have less distal 

warning than two vehicles 
moving in the same direction.              

BUS  

Car

20 ft
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Text
Ohio Warning Light Requirement, Found in Ohio Pupil 
Transportation Operation and Safety Rules: PG 32(c)(1)

OH 300 ft Stop/Pop (m)10 ft

Warning Light Requirement, Found in Iowa 321.372

IA 300ft-500ft >45mph 15 ft

IA 150ft <45mph

Rhode Island Warning Light Requirement, R.I. Law 31-20-11.1 

R.I 100 ft

Arizona Warning Light Requirement, AZ Admin. Code 13-13-104

AZ 100 ft

ME 100 ft

Maine Warning Light Requirement, Title 29-A: § 2308

LA 100 ft-500 ft

Louisiana Amber Lamp Warning Requirement, LA Title 32 Se. 80 (2)(b)

Stop/Pop

100%

100 ft 
requirement

UT 100 ft-500 ft

Utah Yellow Signal Lamps Requirement, Code 14-6a-1301 (3)

Drivers going 
25 mph, are cut 

short from 
safely stopping 
if given 100% 
of State Min. 
Requirement.

IL 100 ft City

IL 200 ft Rural

Illinois Amber Signal Lamp Requirement, SEC 11-1414

Maryland CDL Section 2.6.1


