

MARYLAND TRANSIT CAUCUS

marylandtransitcaucus.org • @CaucusTransit transitcaucus@gmail.com

Officers Co-Chairs: Senator Cory McCray, Delegate Lorig Charkoudian Vice Chairs: Senator Arthur Ellis, Delegate Sheila Ruth Secretary: Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr At-Large Members: Delegate Mary Lehman, Delegate Nick Allen Legislative Committee Co-Chairs: Delegate Malcolm Ruff, Delegate Kris Fair

Dear Members of the Maryland General Assembly,

On behalf of the Transit Caucus, we are writing to express our endorsement of HB517 / SB401: the MARC Rail Authority Act of 2025. As advocates for transportation-related legislation before the General Assembly, we believe this bill is essential to our mission of ensuring a more sustainable, efficient, and accessible transit system for all residents. We are confident that its passage will have a positive impact on our communities, economy, and environment.

The MARC Rail system has immense potential to reduce congestion on corridors like 270 and BW Parkway by improving existing commuter rail connections. This approach is more practical than dreaming of fanciful new transportation modes of continually trying to expand roadways. Yet, MARC investments are often deprioritized during fiscal downturns, as seen with the sidelining of the 2007 MARC Growth and Investment Plan and delays to Brunswick Line expansions. The MARC Rail Authority Act of 2025 addresses this by creating a governance and funding approach that ensures MARC's reliability and growth while advancing the Transit Caucus's visions of reducing transportation emissions, achieving Vision Zero through safer transit alternatives, and building a sustainable transit network that better serves Marylanders.

Thank you for taking the time to consider this bill. Should you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We look forward to working with you as we build a better Maryland transportation system for all.

Thank you,

Senator Cory McCray, Co-Chair

Delegate Lorig Charkoudian, Co-Chair

Delegate Gabriel Acevero Delegate Nick Allen Delegate Dalya Attar Senator Malcolm Augustine Delegate Heather Bagnall Delegate Sandy Bartlett Senator Pamela Beidle Delegate Harry Bhandari Delegate Adrian Boafo Delegate Regina Boyce Delegate Lorg Charkoudian Senator Paul Corderman Delegate Brian Crosby Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield Delegate Debra Davis Delegate Eric Ebersole Delegate Mark Edelson Senator Arthur Ellis Delegate Elizabeth Embry Delegate Kris Fair Senator Brian Feldman Delegate Jessica Feldmark Delegate Linda Foley Delegate Catherine Forbes Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo Delegate Jeff Ghrist Senator Dawn Gile Delegate Michele Guyton Senator Guy Guzzo Delegate Kevn Harris Delegate Anne Healey Senator Shelly Hettleman Delegate Terri Hill Delegate Kevin Hornberger Delegate Carl Jackson Senator Michael Jackson Delegate Andre Johnson Delegate Dana Jones Senator Cheryl Kagan Delegate Anne Kaiser Delegate Aaron Kaufman Delegate Ken Kerr Senator Nancy King Delegate Marc Korman Delegate Mary Lehman Delegate Jazz Lewis Delegate Robbyn Lewis Senator Karen Lewis Young Delegate Jeffrie E. Long Jr Delegate Lesley Lopez Senator Sara Love Delegate Alethia McCaskill Senator Cory McCray Senator Mike McKay Delegate Bernice Mireku-North Delegate David Moon Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr Delegate Cheryl Pasteur Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk Delegate N. Scott Phillips Delegate Andrew Pruski Delegate Lily Qi Senator Jim Rosapepe Delegate Samuel Rosenburg Delegate Malcolm Ruff Delegate Sheila Ruth Senator Johnny Ray Salling Delegate Emily Shetty Delegate Karen Simpson Delegate Stephanie Smith Delegate Jared Solomo Delegate Dana Stein Delegate Vaughn Stewart Senator Charles Svdnor III Delegate Deni Taveras Delegate Kym Taylor Delegate Jen Terrasa Delegate Chris Tomlinson Delegate Kris Valderrama Delegate Joe Vogel Senator Jeff Waldstreicher Senator Alonzo Washington Senator Mary Washington Delegate Courtney Watson Delegate Melissa Wells Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins Delegate Nichole Williams Delegate Greg Wims Delegate Sarah Wolek Delegate Teresa Woorman Delegate Chao Wu Delegate Natalie Ziegler Senator Craig Zucker

Members