MARYLAND PSYCHIATRIC SOCIETY



January 28, 2025

The Honorable Pamela Beidle Chair, Finance Committee 3 East Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Support – SB 790: Maryland Department of Health - Workgroup to Implement Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment Requirements

Dear Chairwoman Beidle and Honorable Members of the Committee:

The Maryland Psychiatric Society (MPS) and the Washington Psychiatric Society (WPS) are state medical organizations whose physician members specialize in diagnosing, treating, and preventing mental illnesses, including substance use disorders. Formed more than sixty-five years ago to support the needs of psychiatrists and their patients, both organizations work to ensure available, accessible, and comprehensive quality mental health resources for all Maryland citizens; and strive through public education to dispel the stigma and discrimination of those suffering from a mental illness. As the district branches of the American Psychiatric Association covering the state of Maryland, MPS and WPS represent over 1100 psychiatrists and physicians currently in psychiatric training.

To prevent adverse childhood experiences and the lifelong repercussions, it is critical that healthcare providers bolster early childhood intervention strategies as primary prevention measures. These early interventions not only result in prevention and early identification of mental illness but also ultimately decrease the long-term burden of mental illness over a lifetime. Indirectly, these interventions may also reduce academic failures, substance use and chronic medical illnesses into adulthood. Obvious benefits of early screening and interventions promote child and family mental health and well-being, which is ultimately beneficial for all.

We urge the committee to issue a favorable report on this critical legislation. If you have any questions regarding this testimony, please contact Lisa Harris Jones at lisa.jones@mdlobbyist.com.

Respectfully submitted, The Maryland Psychiatric Society and the Washington Psychiatric Society Legislative Action Committee

OFFICERS 2024-2025

Theodora G. Balis, M.D. President

Ronald F. Means, M.D President-Elect

Tyler Hightower, M.D. Secretary-Treasurer

Carol Vidal, M.D., Ph.D. Council Chair

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Meagan H. Floyd

COUNCIL

Benedicto R. Borja, M.D. Kim L. Bright, M.D. Mary Cutler, M.D. Mark S. Komrad, M.D. Cynthia Major Lewis, M.D. Rachna S. Raisinghani, M.D Traci J. Speed, M.D., Ph.D. Michael A. Young, M.D., M.S.

EARLY CAREER PSYCHIATRIST COUNCILOR

Jamie D. Spitzer, M.D.

RESIDENT-FELLOW MEMBER COUNCILOR

Hannah Paulding, M.D.

PAST PRESIDENTS

Virginia L. Ashley, M.D. Jessica V. Merkel-Keller, M.D.

APA ASSEMBLY REPRESENTATIVES

Annette L. Hanson, M.D. Elias K. Shaya, M.D. Brian Zimnitzky, M.D.

MEDCHI DELEGATE

Enrique I. Oviedo, M.D.

APA AREA 3 TRUSTEE

Geetha Jayaram, M.D.