

December 3, 2024

The Honorable Bill Ferguson President Senate of Maryland State House, H-107 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones Speaker Maryland House of Delegates State House, H-101 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

## RE: Report Required by Chapter 448 of 2024 (MSAR # 15458) - Workgroup on Establishing a Science and Technology Best Practices and Innovation Network

This past Legislative Session, the Legislature passed, and Governor Moore signed House Bill 999 to establish the abovementioned Workgroup, which UMBC was assigned to staff. Throughout the interim, we have worked closely with the sponsor of the Legislation and the Governor's Appointments Office who have been doing their due diligence in seeking out and vetting potential candidates for the Workgroup.

As of the end of November, only four of the 14 appointed positions representing different industries have been filled, and a majority of the Workgroup has not been appointed. Therefore, the Workgroup has not had a meeting yet to organize or discuss this important work. Should the General Assembly decide to extend the Workgroup another year, UMBC stands ready to assist.

Thank you for your service to Maryland, and please let me know if we can be of further assistance.

Respectfully,

Gaakov "Jake" Weissmann

Yaakov "Jake" Weissmann '06 Vice President for Government Relations & Community Affairs

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Attachment: Current Appointees to Workgroup

Sarah Albert, Department of Legislative Services (5 copies)

Saran Albert, Department of Legislative Services (5 copies)
Valerie Sheares Ashby, President, UMBC
Manfred van Dulmen, Provost and Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs, UMBC
Senator Katie Fry Hester, Senate Member
Delegate Pari Lanham Guzzone, House Member
Delegate Terri L. Hill, Sponsor

Donna Ruginski, Associate Vice President for Center Development, UMBC E. Mona Curran, Placement Director, Governor's Appointments Office

Current Workgroup Members

## HB999/CH448 Appointments

- Senate Member Senator Katie Fry Hester
- House Member Delegate Pam Guzzone
- Executive Director of the Maryland Technology Development Corporation, or the Executive Director's designee TEDCO
  Representative of UMBC Dr. Ramana Vinjamuri
- Five Representatives who have expertise or experience in fostering communitybased 13 applications and using science or technology in teaching, mentoring, or hobbying

  o 0/5 Positions Filled
- Five representatives of institutions of higher education in the State with expertise in
- current science or technology research, industry, or innovation:

  O Tuviah Ehud Schlesinger Johns Hopkins University
  - Nawal Benmouna Montgomery College
  - HBCU Seat Vacant General Seat 2 Vacant
  - o Independent College Seat Vacant
- Two representatives from the private sector with expertise in current developments in science or technology research, industry, or innovation

  O Jack Johnson Cyber Technology Specialist

  Vacant
- Two representatives from the nonprofit sector with expertise in or history of recognized advocacy on behalf of ethical and human practices and protections in science and technology research, industry, or innovation

  Laura Bacon Founder, The 3rd Collaboration Space

  Vacant