MARYLAND PSYCHIATRIC SOCIETY



January 28, 2025

The Honorable Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk
Chair, Health Government Operations Committee
241 Taylor House Office Building

Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Support – HB 735: Certificate of Need - Psychiatric Health Care Facilities and Psychiatric and Mental Health Services - Exemption

Dear Chairwoman Pena-Melnyk and Honorable Members of the Committee:

The Maryland Psychiatric Society (MPS) and the Washington Psychiatric Society (WPS) are state medical organizations whose physician members specialize in diagnosing, treating, and preventing mental illnesses, including substance use disorders. Formed more than sixty-five years ago to support the needs of psychiatrists and their patients, both organizations work to ensure available, accessible, and comprehensive quality mental health resources for all Maryland citizens; and strive through public education to dispel the stigma and discrimination of those suffering from a mental illness. As the district branches of the American Psychiatric Association covering the state of Maryland, MPS and WPS represent over 1100 psychiatrists and physicians currently in psychiatric training.

MPS/WPS support House Bill 735: Certificate of Need - Psychiatric Health Care Facilities and Psychiatric and Mental Health Services – Exemption as it removes red tape required to expand mental health services. The intention of a certificate of need law is to reduce the cost of care by ensuring that a new facility does not duplicate something that already exists. In practice, however, the certificate of need law could prevent the building of a standalone psychiatric hospital if the general hospital has a small ten bed psych unit, despite an overwhelming need for a full psychiatric hospital.

Put simply, Maryland needs more psychiatric beds, and therefore, Maryland needs HB 735 to facilitate that happening.

For all the reasons above, MPS and WPS ask the committee for a favorable report on HB 735. If you have any questions regarding this testimony, please contact Lisa Harris Jones at lisa.jones@mdlobbyist.com.

Respectfully submitted, The Maryland Psychiatric Society and the Washington Psychiatric Society Legislative Action Committee

OFFICERS 2024-2025

Theodora G. Balis, M.D. President

Ronald F. Means, M.D President-Elect

Tyler Hightower, M.D. Secretary-Treasurer

Carol Vidal, M.D., Ph.D. Council Chair

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Meagan H. Floyd

COUNCIL

Benedicto R. Borja, M.D. Kim L. Bright, M.D. Mary Cutler, M.D. Mark S. Komrad, M.D. Cynthia Major Lewis, M.D. Rachna S. Raisinghani, M.D Traci J. Speed, M.D., Ph.D. Michael A. Young, M.D., M.S.

EARLY CAREER PSYCHIATRIST COUNCILOR

Jamie D. Spitzer, M.D.

RESIDENT-FELLOW MEMBER COUNCILOR

Hannah Paulding, M.D.

PAST PRESIDENTS

Virginia L. Ashley, M.D. Jessica V. Merkel-Keller, M.D.

APA ASSEMBLY REPRESENTATIVES

Annette L. Hanson, M.D. Elias K. Shaya, M.D. Brian Zimnitzky, M.D.

MEDCHI DELEGATE

Enrique I. Oviedo, M.D.

APA AREA 3 TRUSTEE

Geetha Jayaram, M.D.