

## LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

February 21, 2025

Chair Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk Health and Government Operations Committee 240 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chair Pena-Melnyk and Members of the Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 1100 (HB1100) - Public Health - Health Equity Dashboard. This bill introduces a crucial tool for addressing health disparities by requiring the Maryland Department of Health, in collaboration with the Commission on Health Equity, to create a public, easy-to-understand health equity dashboard that disaggregates health data by race, ethnicity, and gender. House Bill 1100 is a 2025 legislative priority for the Black Caucus.

In Maryland, Black and minority communities experience disproportionate health outcomes in areas such as chronic disease, mental health, cancer, and access to healthcare. HB1100 ensures that data reflecting these disparities is made transparent and accessible to the public, providing a clearer picture of where disparities exist and where resources should be targeted. By including key indicators like cardiovascular disease, HIV/AIDS, and mental health, this bill highlights the urgent need for equitable healthcare access and services in underserved communities.

The bill's frequent updates (every 30 days) will empower community advocates, healthcare professionals, and policymakers to respond quickly and strategically to emerging health trends. This data-driven approach ensures that Maryland's public health strategies are more responsive and aligned with the needs of minority populations, particularly Black Marylanders who face significant barriers to care.

HB1100 directly addresses health inequities by enabling the state to better allocate resources and focus efforts on communities most in need. It ensures that health disparities are not only recognized but actively addressed through informed, targeted interventions. This aligns with the Black Caucus' ongoing commitment to promoting health equity and dismantling systemic barriers that negatively impact Black and minority communities in Maryland.

For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland strongly supports House Bill 1100 and urges a favorable vote.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

## **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28

Chaplain

Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Historian

Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A

**Executive Director** Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

## MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Shaneka Henson, District 30 Senator Carl Jackson, District 8 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith. Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alanzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conoway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate LaToya Nkongolo, District 31 Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22

Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45