**ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT** 

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

## **SB 495 – OPIOID RESTITUTION FUND – AUTHORIZED USES**

## **OPPOSE**

March 25, 2025

Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, Chair Health and Government Operations Committee 240/241 Taylor House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

## **RE:** SB 495 – Opioid Restitution Fund – Authorized Uses

Dear Chairman Pena-Melnyk:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>OPPOSE</u> Senate Bill HB 495 – **Opioid Restitution Fund** – Authorized Uses which is being heard in the Health and Government Operations Committee.

We request an unfavorable report on House Bill 495. We do not support the introduction of this legislation and do not believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/067

> Cc: Senator Jack Bailey Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin Commissioner Michael Hewitt Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator David Weiskopf, County Administrator Buffy Giddens, County Attorney John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 \* CHESAPEAKE BUILDING \* 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 \*1350 \* FAX 301.475.4935 \* <u>www.stmaryscountymd.gov</u> \* CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV