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FAVORABLE

Current Maryland law provides a maximum penalty of 10 years in jail for even minor assaultive behavior including
pushing, shoving, spitting or bumping into someone intentionally. It’s time to have the option to charge such conduct
where the penalty is significantly less than a decade in jail. A lower penalty encourages quick and fair resolution of
cases through plea agreements, which avoids jury trials. This promotes expediency and judicial economy.

Example: A 30-year-old defendant with an intellectual disability threw a Styrofoam container at his peer support
worker. The worker then filed charges against the defendant for assault in the 2"¢ degree. He had to secure an
attorney. The case went on for many months and caused significant stress to the defendant because he was facing the
possibility of up to 10 years in jail. The case was eventually dismissed.

For clients who are not competent to stand trial, including those who are already patients at mental hospitals, the
high maximum penalty for 2nd degree assault means that they can be held for up to 3 years until their case is
dismissed, even if the assaultive behavior is very minor.

Second Amendment Impact

Maryland has many residents and visitors who enjoy hunting throughout the state and could be significantly
impacted if faced with a lifetime firearm ban. Under current Maryland law, second-degree assault is classified as a
“crime of violence,” meaning that even a minor incident can result in a lifetime firearm prohibition.

The creation of a third-degree assault statute in Maryland would be a significant step toward ensuring that firearm
prohibitions are applied more fairly. The current law fails to differentiate between truly violent assaults and minor
physical altercations, resulting in unnecessarily harsh consequences for gun owners. By establishing another
misdemeanor assault with a maximum sentence of ninety days, the bill would prevent many Marylanders from being
permanently disarmed for minor assaultive acts. At the same time, it would help ensure that federal firearm
prohibitions are not automatically triggered for low-level conduct.

Noncitizens Impact

The creation of a third-degree assault statute in Maryland would prevent significant harm to noncitizens. The
proposed legislation helps avoid the disproportionate impact on many legal immigrants from a second-degree assault
conviction. Under federal immigration law, the classification of offenses as misdemeanors or felonies is primarily
based on the maximum sentence rather than the state law designation. Noncitizens, including Deferred Action for
Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and Temporary Protected Status (TPS) holders can lose their status completely from
just one second-degree assault conviction. That’s a harsh penalty for shoving someone.

The Maryland Criminal Defense Attorneys’ Association urges a favorable report on SB 873.
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