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2A Maryland 
2A@2AMaryland.org 

 
 

Senate Bill 0180 
Public Safety – Handgun Permits – Expiration and Renewal Periods for 

Retired Law Enforcement Officer 
FAVORABLE with AMENDMENTS 

 
 
We strongly support changing the period a permit to wear and carry a firearm is valid to 
5 years. In view of the Bruen decision, the current 2-year period for a first permit and 3 
years for renewals has no basis in logic and is out of step with the policies of most other 
states where a 5-year permit is the norm.  
 
While we have great respect and admiration for our law enforcement officers, to create 
a “carve out” on any issue is something we cannot support. This nation was founded upon 
the concept that all citizens are created equal and have equal protection under the law. 
 
We recommend amending Senate Bill 0180 by removing the existing language and 
revising Public Safety Article §5-309 (b) as follows: 
 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (d) of this section, a A permit expires on the 
last day of the holder’s birth month following 2 5 years after the date the permit is issued. 

(b) Subject to subsection (c) of this section, a permit may be renewed for 
successive periods of 3 5 years each if, at the time of an application for renewal, the 
applicant possesses the qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the renewal 
fee stated in this subtitle. 

(c) A person who applies for a renewal of a permit is not required to be 
fingerprinted unless the Secretary requires a set of the person’s fingerprints to resolve a 
question of the person’s identity. 

(d) The Secretary may establish an alternative expiration date for a permit to 
coincide with the expiration of a license, certification, or commission for: 

(1) a private detective under Title 13 of the Business Occupations and 
Professions Article; 

(2) a security guard under Title 19 of the Business Occupations and 
Professions Article; or 

(3) a special police officer under § 3–306 of this article. 
 
John H. Josselyn 
2A Maryland 
01/16/2025 
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Article - Public Safety 

 

[Previous][Next] 

 

§5–304. 

 

 (a) An application for a permit shall be made under oath. 

 

 (b) (1) Subject to subsections (c) and (d) of this section, the Secretary 

may charge a nonrefundable fee payable when an application is filed for a permit. 

 

  (2) The fee may not exceed: 

 

   (i) $125 for an initial application; 

 

   (ii) $75 for a renewal or subsequent application; and 

 

   (iii) $20 for a duplicate or modified permit. 

 

  (3) The fees under this subsection are in addition to the fees 

authorized under § 5–305 of this subtitle. 

 

 (c) The Secretary may reduce the fee under subsection (b) of this section 

accordingly for a permit that is granted for one day only and at one place only. 

 

 (d) The Secretary may not charge a fee under subsection (b) of this section 

to: 

 

  (1) a State, county, or municipal public safety employee who is 

required to carry, wear, or transport a handgun as a condition of governmental 

employment; or 

 

  (2) a retired law enforcement officer of the State or a county or 

municipal corporation of the State. 

 

 (e) The applicant shall pay a fee under this section by an electronic check, 

a credit card, or a method of online payment approved by the Secretary. 
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