

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 301-858-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Fax 410-841-3175 • 301-858-3175 • Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

February 5, 2025

1 cordary 5, 20.

Chairman William C. Smith, Jr. Judicial Proceedings Committee 2 East Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chair Smith and Members of the Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for Senate Bill 432 (SB 432) Expungement Reform Act of 2025. This bill introduces crucial reforms to Maryland's expungement process by reducing waiting periods, expanding eligibility for record clearance, and prohibiting the Maryland Judiciary Case Search from displaying certain case records. **Senate Bill 432 is a 2025 Black Caucus legislative priority bill.**

In Maryland, Black communities are disproportionately impacted by the long-term consequences of criminal records due to systemic racial disparities in policing and sentencing. The Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy found that Black Marylanders are arrested and convicted at higher rates than their white counterparts for similar offenses, particularly for nonviolent drug-related crimes. The collateral consequences of a criminal record create significant barriers to employment, housing, and economic stability, perpetuating cycles of poverty and disenfranchisement. SB 432 ensures that individuals who have completed their sentences, including probation and parole, can more swiftly seek expungement, removing unnecessary obstacles to full reintegration into society.

The bill's expansion of expungement eligibility and restrictions on public case records will help reduce the stigma associated with past convictions, allowing Black Marylanders greater access to jobs, education, and stable housing. Research indicates that expungement significantly improves employment prospects, with one study finding that wages increase by over 20% within a year of record clearance. Additionally, SB 432 provides justice for those convicted of cannabis possession—offenses that have historically been enforced disproportionately against Black individuals—by ensuring that pardoned convictions are removed from public view.

SB 432 directly addresses racial inequities in the criminal justice system by giving individuals a fair chance to rebuild their lives and contribute to their

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28

Chaplain

Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Historian

Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A

Executive Director

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conoway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47 A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District B Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45

communities. It aligns with the Black Caucus' commitment to advancing economic justice, reducing barriers to opportunity, and dismantling systemic policies that disproportionately harm Black and minority communities in Maryland.

For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland strongly supports **Senate Bill 432** and urges this committee to vote favorably.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland