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House Bill 0171
Public Safety — Handgun Permits — Expiration and Renewal Periods for Retired Law
Enforcement Officer
FAVORABLE with AMENDMENTS

We strongly support changing the period a permit to wear and carry a firearm is valid to 5 years.
In view of the Bruen decision, the current 2-year period for a first permit and 3 years for renewals
has no basis in logic and is out of step with the policies of most other states where a 5-year permit
is the norm.

While we have great respect and admiration for our law enforcement officers, creating another
“carve out” on any issue is something we cannot support. This nation was founded upon the
concept that all citizens are created equal and have equal protection and equal rights under the
law. Further, the creation of “separate classes” of permits runs a close parallel to the “good and
substantial” concept which the United States Supreme Court ruled as unconstitutional in the 2022
Bruen decision.

We recommend avoiding a court challenge by simply amending House Bill 0171 by removing the
existing bill language and revising Public Safety Article §5-309 (b) as follows:

(a) Exceptasprovided-in-subsection{d}-of thisseetion, a A permit expires on the last day

of the holder’s birth month following 2 5 years after the date the permit is issued.

(b) Subject to subsection (c) of this section, a permit may be renewed for successive
periods of 3 5 years each if, at the time of an application for renewal, the applicant possesses the
qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the renewal fee stated in this subtitle.

(c) A person who applies for a renewal of a permit is not required to be fingerprinted
unless the Secretary requires a set of the person’s fingerprints to resolve a question of the
person’s identity.

John H. Josselyn
2A Maryland
01/29/2025
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John
Callout
Firearms Safety Act of 2013 passed

John
Callout
US Supreme Court decision in Bruen on carry permits.
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Article - Public Safety
[Previous][Next]
§5—-304.
(a)  An application for a permit shall be made under oath.

(b) (1) Subject to subsections (c¢) and (d) of this section, the Secretary
may charge a nonrefundable fee payable when an application is filed for a permit.

(2) The fee may not exceed:
(1) $125 for an initial application;
(1)  $75 for a renewal or subsequent application; and
(11)  $20 for a duplicate or modified permit.

3) The fees under this subsection are in addition to the fees
authorized under § 5-305 of this subtitle.

(c) The Secretary may reduce the fee under subsection (b) of this section
accordingly for a permit that is granted for one day only and at one place only.

N (d)  The Secretary may not charge a fee under subsection (b) of this section
to:

(1) a State, county, or municipal public safety employee who is
required to carry, wear, or transport a handgun as a condition of governmental
employment; or

> (2) a retired law enforcement officer of the State or a county or
municipal corporation of the State.

(e) The applicant shall pay a fee under this section by an electronic check,
a credit card, or a method of online payment approved by the Secretary.

[Previous][Next]

HB0171_Testimony_2A Maryland.pdf Page 4 of 4 01-29-2025


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2024RS/Statute_Web/gps/5-303.pdf
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2024RS/Statute_Web/gps/5-305.pdf
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2024RS/Statute_Web/gps/5-303.pdf
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2024RS/Statute_Web/gps/5-305.pdf
John
Line

John
Line




